Victoria Fellowships in 2020

A group of 12 early career researchers have received Victoria Fellowships to assist them with an international study mission – six in the life sciences and six in the physical sciences.

Upon presenting the Victoria Fellowships, the Minister added: ‘By encouraging our emerging scientific leaders to take their skill and interest to the next level, the Victoria Fellowship program has helped Victoria to become a global leader in research and innovation.’

Each Victoria Fellow will undertake a short-term overseas study mission (when borders reopen) to assist in developing a commercial idea; undertaking specialist training; or career development not available in Australia.

The Victoria Fellowships in the life sciences in 2020 were presented to:

· Dr Jody Gerdts
· Dr Caitlin Jenvey
· Dr Denver Linklater
· Dr Jennifer Perret
· Mrs Pricilla Prestes
· Dr Julia Walker

The Victoria Fellowships in the physical sciences in 2020 were presented to:

· Dr Taimur Ahmed
· Dr Andreas Boes
· Dr Fatemeh Jalali
· Dr Conrad Wasko
· Dr Ali Yavari
· Dr Maggie Zhai

Dr Jody Gerdts from Bee Scientifics received the Australian French Association for Science and Technology (AFAS) Associate Award, which supports a study mission in France in conjunction with the Victoria Fellowship and aims to facilitate science and technology innovations to mutually benefit Victoria and France.

More details here.